Posted by occwebsite
02nd Apr 2021

On Friday (2 April) & Saturday (3 April) we invite you to take some time to explore this labyrinth.










The labyrinth is an interactive reflective time for those on a spiritual journey. It’s for anyone who wants a break from surfing the surface of culture to contemplate the deeper things of life.

The labyrinth is a 12th-century ritual, that has been reshaped for the 21st century. Its maze-like path takes you on a symbolic journey, creates space to unwind and think – in particular about our relationships with ourselves, one another, our planet and God.

Designed for people of all ages – young and old alike, it provides a mixture of rituals and visuals, of contemplative words and contemporary ambient music, of symbols and media to help guide the spiritual traveller.

Labyrinths were a feature of many medieval cathedrals – one of the best examples is found in Chartres Cathedral in northern France. Unlike a maze, labyrinths have only one path – there are no dead ends. Normally, people walk the labyrinth slowly, as an aid to contemplative prayer and reflection, as a spiritual exercise, or as a form of pilgrimage.

This online version includes music, meditations, art, media and symbolic activities at intervals along the path. We encourage you to listen, to take time to reflect, to “walk” at your own pace.

The path has three stages

  • the ‘inward’ journey,
  • the centre
  • and the ‘outward’ journey.


  • The theme of the ‘inward‘ journey is letting go of things that hinder our wholeness and inner approach to God.
  • The centre of the Labyrinth is a space of meditative prayer and peace.
  • The theme of the ‘outward‘ journey is relationship – with ourselves, with others and with the planet – seen in the light of our relationship with God.

You can click on the keyword for each stage of this journey. That will take you to a page containing links with instructions, meditations, and music relating to a part of the labyrinth.

Labyrinth Home – this page

1: Inward Journey
2: Noise
3: Letting Go
4: Hurts
5: Distractions
6: Holy Space
7: Outward Journey
8: Self
9: Planet
10: Others
11: Impression
Visitors’ Book – leave a comment in the comments